Archived Material

Click on past months to check out all of the Mitten State Sports Report's archived material!

Sunday, December 8, 2019

Arena Football League News

      On Wednesday, November 27th, The AFL (Arena Football League) announced that they've ceased operations.  The AFL played their first season back in 1987, but the league rode a roller coaster of ups and downs ever since its inception.  The league added, and subtracted teams on an annual basis, and the most popular franchises like the Iowa Barnstormers, and the Arizona Rattlers left to join the IFL (Indoor Football League) years ago.  The 2019 AFL season included 6 teams, and no big time television deal.
      The 2019 AFL season featured the Albany Empire, the Atlantic City Blackjacks, the Baltimore Brigade, the Columbus Destroyers, the Philadelphia Soul, and the Washington Valor.  The Albany Empire won Arena Bowl 32 by defeating the Philadelphia Soul 45-27.  Click on the link below for more information about the AFL.
     Leave a comment, or email the Mitten State Sports Report at  Click on past months to see all of the Mitten State Sports Report's archived material.  Check out Game Notes.

                                                                                     Game Notes

-  The Arizona Ratters played their final season in the AFL in 2016.  The Rattlers joined the IFL in 2017.

-  The Iowa Barnstormers joined the IFL in 2015.

-  The Green Bay Blizzard are a former AFL minor league franchise.  The Blizzard joined the IFL in 2010.

-  The Orlando Predators are a former AFL franchise.  The Predators joined the NAL (National Arena League) in 2019.

-  The Detroit Drive, the Detroit Fury, and the Grand Rapids Rampage are all former AFL franchises.

For more information about the Arena Football League click on

Leave a comment!  Email the Mitten State Sports Report at

Click on the arrow next to previous months to see the Mitten State Sports Report's archived material.    

No comments:

Post a Comment